Commonwealth v. Clancy

2383CR00198 · Plymouth Superior

Commonwealth v. Clancy, August 20, 2026

ThursdayreporteddefenseDay 17 of 28

A single defense witness on the stand for well under an hour, a jury polled one by one under oath before evidence began and sent home before eleven, and then, with the jury gone, the first sustained fight over the jury instructions.

Sheila Cavanaugh, the Brigham and Women's chaplain who met Lindsay Clancy the morning after the killings, gave the jury a second account of a reported command hallucination and then conceded on cross-examination that her own detailed chaplaincy notes never mention it.

In the afternoon session the Commonwealth asked for a criminal responsibility charge with no intoxication component and opposed any lesser included offense; the defense asked for involuntary intoxication and involuntary manslaughter. The judge decided nothing and undertook to circulate a draft charge on Friday.

Outside, several hundred supporters in pink held a silent standout that the jurors drove past on their way in.

Key points
  • MATERIAL FOR THE COMMONWEALTH: the chaplain's contemporaneous notes record no voice-hearing. Sprague established that Cavanaugh documented every interaction in the hospital record in detail and never once wrote that Clancy reported a voice or what it said, and Cavanaugh agreed.
  • MATERIAL FOR THE COMMONWEALTH: the notes were specific about everything else. Sprague read out entries on Clancy's fear of never walking again and of being vulnerable to others, an entry in which Clancy said she was deserving of what had happened, a request for help applying for Social Security disability benefits, entries describing her as hopeful about a Spaulding discharge and optimistic about her physical progress, and an entry about playing cards with her mother. The selectivity was the point.
  • MATERIAL FOR THE DEFENSE: the answer she gave to that attack. Cavanaugh testified her notes are not verbatim transcripts, that she is not medically trained, that her role is not to evaluate a patient but to bear witness to suffering, and — per LA Magazine — that there are limits on what she records from privileged spiritual communication. On redirect she agreed a word like hopeful in the notes was her own assessment rather than a quotation of Clancy.
  • LA MAGAZINE ALONE REPORTS THE RECROSS THAT ANSWERS THE REDIRECT: Sprague pointed out that some entries do carry quotation marks, and asked whether those reflected words Clancy actually spoke. Her answer is not reported.
  • WHAT THE QUOTED TESTIMONY DOES NOT SAY. Every outlet carries Cavanaugh saying the voice told Clancy that if she did not follow the command neither she nor her children would be safe. None quotes her saying what the command was. NBC10 Boston, ABC News, East Idaho News and Boston 25's filed story each summarize her as having said the voice told Clancy to kill the children and then herself. That is the outlets' gloss, consistent with earlier defense witnesses, and should not be carried into a statement of what this witness said.
  • This is at least the second and by some accounts the third witness to relay a reported command hallucination, after the 08-18 psychologist, and it mirrors the point drawn from Dr. Zeizel on 08-19: no medical record documents voices telling her to kill.
  • THE VISIT COUNT IS NOT SETTLED. Boston 25, ABC News, Rolling Stone and LA Magazine put roughly 200 visits at Tewksbury State Hospital alone, on top of about fourteen at Brigham and Women's and further visits at Spaulding. The Boston Globe and the Associated Press put more than 200 as the total since the killings; East Idaho News gives about 200 over roughly three years. Both readings are recorded.
  • THE OUTLETS DISAGREE ON WHETHER THE GRIEF OBJECTION SUCCEEDED. The Boston Globe reports the characterization stricken and LA Magazine reports the objection sustained; Newsweek reports the judge permitting it. Two to one, unresolved.
  • THE CHARGE IS CONTESTED, AND NOTHING WAS DECIDED. At the preliminary charge conference the defense asked that involuntary manslaughter and wanton conduct go to the jury with the impact of intoxication built in, and that the criminal responsibility instruction carry involuntary intoxication; the Commonwealth opposed both. Judge Sullivan announced no ruling and said counsel would have a rough draft of the instructions on Friday.
  • THE COMMONWEALTH'S INTOXICATION ARGUMENT, IN ITS OWN TERMS. Sprague argued there was no evidence of intoxication by drugs or alcohol during the killings: 10 milligrams of amitriptyline recently raised to 20 with no real evidence Clancy took the increase, plus low doses of trazodone and Valium; the medications the defense relies on predate the McLean admission and had been out of her system for at least three weeks by January 24, 2023. She likened it to a drunk-driving case — what matters is the day itself.
  • THE DEFENSE'S ANSWER, IN ITS OWN TERMS. Reddington said the case is clearly an involuntary intoxication defense so far as the charge is concerned, resting on over-prescription, side effects, and the titration, termination or abrupt cessation of medication against normal medical advice, and that the case cannot be tried in a vacuum.
  • THE COMMONWEALTH ASKED FOR FIRST- AND SECOND-DEGREE MURDER, first degree on both theories of deliberate premeditation and extreme atrocity or cruelty, and for instructions on opinion testimony, prior consistent and inconsistent statements, redactions, stipulations and consciousness of guilt. Hearst Connecticut live blog, the only outlet to report the list.
  • MORE EVIDENCE ABOUT PILLS TAKEN AFTER THE KILLINGS WAS STILL EXPECTED. Sprague said so in passing during the charge conference. Hearst alone reports it.
  • THE JUDGE ENGAGED WITH THE DEFINITION OF INTOXICATION HIMSELF, asking how it should be defined on this evidence, whether an instruction could be warranted where a defendant took a drug and experienced some effect from it, and noting the difficulty of finding a specific definition within the homicide instructions. LA Magazine alone.
  • EIGHTEEN JURORS WERE SWORN AND QUESTIONED ONE BY ONE AT SIDEBAR, under oath, with white noise played so the gallery could not hear. No reason was given on the record. NBC10 Boston reports, on an unnamed source, that it was done at the prosecution's request after the standout. That is the only account of a reason anywhere in the coverage and it is anonymous.
  • NOBODY EXPLAINED THE SHORT DAY. The judge said only that it had nothing to do with the attorneys or the parties, and told jurors to hold it against him if anyone. It was the second early finish in two days; Rolling Stone notes it has not been reported whether the two are connected.
  • WHAT REDDINGTON SAID ABOUT RESTING IS REPORTED THREE WAYS: ABC News has him saying in court he expects to rest Friday after one more witness; the Hearst blog has him telling reporters on his way into court that he planned to rest Monday; LA Magazine's subheadline says Thursday. Only the in-court version — Dr. Phillip Resnick on Friday as the final defense witness — is carried by more than one outlet, and it is what happened.
  • DR. MARGARET SPINELLI DID NOT APPEAR. The Boston Globe reported that the defense had been poised to call the postpartum specialist when Wednesday ended, that she was in court Wednesday morning, that she was absent Thursday and that it was unclear whether she would testify. No outlet reports why. She never did testify.
  • THE DEMONSTRATION WAS THE LARGEST OF THE TRIAL and the jurors drove past it. Crowd figures range from dozens (NBC10 Boston, East Idaho News) to about 300 (Associated Press, Newsweek) to more than 400 (Boston Globe). It was organized by the group that ran the Karen Read standouts in Dedham, and a second gathering was held outside Tewksbury Hospital.

Witnesses (1)

Sheila CavanaughDefense
Board-certified chaplain, Brigham and Women's Hospital, Boston; seven years in the post. CBS Boston and Sinclair's WJAR pool caption describe her instead as a Mass General Brigham chaplain. She testified that she is not medically trained, did not treat Clancy and provided spiritual care.
Direct: Reddington Cross: Sprague
  • TESTIMONY COMPLETE IN ONE SITTING. The only witness called on 08-20 and the only witness the jury heard all day. Called at about 10:14 (Boston 25) to 10:20 (East Idaho News); LA Magazine puts the start at about 10:16 and the Boston Globe posted the call at 10:19. Direct by Reddington, cross by ADA Jennifer Sprague, redirect by Reddington and — on LA Magazine's account alone — a recross by Sprague. She was off the stand by about 10:36. HOW LONG SHE TESTIFIED IS REPORTED THREE WAYS: about twenty minutes (CBS Boston), about half an hour (Hearst Connecticut live blog), about an hour (ABC News and Rolling Stone). The live-blog timestamps fit the shorter figures.
  • WHY SHE WAS CALLED. The Boston Globe notes she had been named in Dr. Paul Zeizel's testimony earlier in the week as the chaplain who interacted with Clancy the day after the killings. She is at least the second and by some accounts the third defense witness to relay a reported command hallucination.
  • HOW SHE CAME TO THE PATIENT. LA Magazine, the only outlet to report this passage, has her arriving at the hospital at about 8:30 a.m. on January 25, 2023 to relieve the overnight chaplain, being summoned to her director's office and being sent to Unit 8C. She described the unit as flooded with law enforcement that morning; the Hearst live blog reports her saying Clancy was surrounded by police.
  • THE FIRST VISIT, JANUARY 25, 2023. Clancy could not speak. The Boston Globe, CBS Boston and Boston 25 say she was intubated; the Associated Press renders it as unconscious. Cavanaugh described her as dressed in what she called medical armor — covered in tubes, equipment and other devices, with a neck brace and, in Newsweek's account, bandaged. LA Magazine reports she returned the following day and found Clancy still intubated and unable to speak; the Globe reports several further visits in the hospital room, praying with her.
  • JANUARY 31, 2023 — THE FIRST CONVERSATION. Extubated and able to speak. Cavanaugh described Clancy's emotional state as very neutral, a flat affect, and said she remembered vividly what Clancy said as Cavanaugh held her hand to comfort her: that she was so glad her children were safe. Cavanaugh testified that she answered theologically, telling Clancy her children were safe in heaven with God, and that they held hands throughout and prayed for them. LA Magazine names the children in that prayer as Cora, Dawson and Callan. January 31, 2023 was a Tuesday, which is how ABC News records her dating it.
  • THE VOICE. Asked by Reddington what other conversations with Clancy she recalled, Cavanaugh said Clancy alluded to having heard a voice, and that according to Clancy the voice told her that if she did not follow the command, neither she nor her children would be safe. She said Clancy described it as a male voice and as persistent. Boston 25 reports her saying Clancy spoke of it several times during their visits; Newsweek has the subject arising across the roughly fourteen Brigham visits and continuing at Spaulding and Tewksbury.
  • MATERIAL FOR THE COMMONWEALTH — WHAT THE QUOTED ANSWER DOES NOT CONTAIN. In the passage carried by the Boston Globe, CBS Boston, Boston 25, the Associated Press, ABC News, Hearst and LA Magazine alike, Cavanaugh does not say what the command was. NBC10 Boston, ABC News, East Idaho News and Boston 25's filed story each summarize her as having said the voice told Clancy to kill her children and then herself, which matches what earlier defense witnesses described, but no outlet quotes her saying it. The distinction matters because the content of the command is the part that bears on McHoul.
  • CLANCY SEEMED CONFUSED EARLY ON. Boston 25's filed story alone reports Cavanaugh saying that during one of their earliest interactions Clancy appeared confused about what had happened. No other outlet carries it and no outlet reports it being developed on either examination.
  • THE NUMBER OF VISITS IS NOT AGREED. Boston 25 has her giving fourteen visits at Brigham and Women's, further visits at Spaulding Rehabilitation Hospital and 200 at Tewksbury State Hospital; ABC News, Rolling Stone and LA Magazine likewise put the 200 at Tewksbury, LA Magazine pairing it with at least fourteen during the initial hospitalization. The Boston Globe and the Associated Press instead give more than 200 as the total since the killings, the AP adding that she still visits her at the state hospital; East Idaho News's recap gives about 200 meetings over roughly three years. Both readings are recorded here and neither is treated as the figure.
  • THE CONTINUING VISITS, AND THE OBJECTION. She testified that she kept visiting because they had built a comfortable, respectful rapport and she felt it was in Clancy's best interest as she healed, and that Clancy was still in deep grief and suffering; asked about Clancy's feelings toward her children on the later visits, she said Clancy loves them deeply, talks about them frequently and carries immense grief, which Boston 25 reports as continuing to this day. The Commonwealth objected. See rulings — the outlets do not agree on the outcome. The Associated Press adds that their most recent visit was shortly before the trial began.
  • CROSS — THE NOTES CONTAIN NO VOICE. Sprague established that Cavanaugh writes detailed notes into the Brigham and Women's Hospital record documenting every one of her interactions with Clancy, and that she never once wrote that Clancy told her she heard a voice or what the voice said. Cavanaugh agreed. Boston 25's contemporaneous rendering of the exchange is Sprague putting to her that the notes are full of detail about Clancy's thoughts and feelings but contain nothing about hearing voices, and Cavanaugh answering that that is correct.
  • CROSS — WHAT THE NOTES DO CONTAIN. The Boston Globe reports Sprague pointing to an entry about Clancy's fear that her inability to walk might leave her vulnerable to others in the future. The Hearst live blog adds an entry about her fear of never walking again, an entry in which Clancy said she was deserving of this in light of recent events, and a request from Clancy for help filling out an application for Social Security disability benefits so she would have an income. LA Magazine adds entries describing Clancy as hopeful about being discharged to Spaulding and optimistic about her physical progress despite being unable to move her legs, and an entry describing her playing a card game with her mother and feeling hopeful. Newsweek summarizes the same material as concerns about mobility and expressions of optimism.
  • CROSS — WHAT SHE COULD NOT REMEMBER. Boston 25's filed story reports Sprague questioning her about conversations with Clancy during the Spaulding Rehabilitation period and drawing out details Cavanaugh said she could not recall. The details are not specified in any account read.
  • HER ANSWER TO THE ATTACK. Cavanaugh testified that her notes are not verbatim transcripts of conversations, that she is not medically trained, and that she was not there to evaluate the patient but to bear witness to suffering. LA Magazine adds that she described her role as spiritual care and helping Clancy process trauma rather than clinical evaluation, and testified that there are limits on what she documents from privileged spiritual communication. East Idaho News's live blog renders the cross-examination's opening point as establishing that her notes contain her interpretations rather than direct quotations.
  • REDIRECT. LA Magazine reports Reddington drawing the distinction between Cavanaugh's own observations and statements made to her in confidence as a chaplain, and Cavanaugh clarifying that a description such as hopeful reflected her own words and assessment rather than necessarily a direct quotation from Clancy. East Idaho News timestamps a defense redirect ending the questioning at about 10:38 to 10:39.
  • RECROSS — SINGLE SOURCE. LA Magazine alone reports that Sprague returned to the point, noting that some of the notes do carry quotation marks and asking whether those entries reflected words Clancy actually spoke. No other outlet reports a recross and no outlet reports her answer.
  • WHAT SHE WAS NOT ASKED. No outlet reports her being asked for any opinion on diagnosis, on psychosis or on criminal responsibility, or being asked anything about January 24, 2023 itself. She did not treat Clancy and gave no clinical evidence.

Exhibits and evidence

Rulings and objections

Procedural